Apple Watch Review: Worth It Or Not?

Ever since the release of the first Apple Watch, I have always debated if it was worth purchasing considering that I have my phone in my hand almost 95 percent of the time. This year for Christmas, I was happy to receive my first Apple watch as a gift. After a few days of trying out my new smartwatch, I am here to answer the question: Is it worth the hype or not? 

Pros:

  1. The Look- The first thing I noticed about the watch is the sleek appearance of it. I got the 42mm because I prefer the larger screen compared to the 38mm option. You also have the option of a wide variety of watch bands that you can choose from. You can also choose between the stainless steel, or the slightly cheaper, aluminum frames. The series 2 watch comes in many colors such as gold, rose gold, space gray, and silver.
  2. Notifications– one of my favorite things about the apple watch is that your notifications come straight to your wrist. If you get a text message, snapchat, twitter notification, etc. it notifies you on your watch instead of having to look at your phone and see the notification.
  3. Fitness Tracking- I really enjoy the fitness tracking features and I’m sure if you are a very active person that you will enjoy it more. It keeps track of how many steps you take each day, how many calories you have burned, and manage your daily workouts. It also keeps track of your heart rate. There is a wide variety of health and fitness apps that can motivate you to have a healthy and fit lifestyle.
  4. Water Resistant- The Series 2 edition can withstand up to 50m of water. This feature is very useful if you want to swim in a pool with your watch on and it continues to track your activity. I personally do not plan on testing this feature but it can be very useful in certain situations.
  5. Battery Life- The Series 2 has a battery life of 18 hours. Battery life is not an issue with the watch because honestly, you won’t spend near as much time on it compared to your phone.

 

Cons

  1. Expensive- one thing about the Apple Watch is that it can be somewhat pricey. The newest Series 3 edition costs around $329 to up to $400. I have the Series 2 and they range from around $269 up to $300 depending on the size and style you want. There isn’t much of a price difference between the Series 2 & 3 because there isn’t much difference between the two as far as the specs.
  2. Looks The Same As The Series 1- As far as appearance, the Series 2 is almost identical than the Series 1. The overall appearance makes it hard to tell the difference between a newer model versus an older model.
  3. Dependent on iPhone- the Apple Watch is not a stand-alone device and it needs to be connected to a iPhone in order for it to be fully functional. Many may argue that if you can access a large amount of features on your phone, why pay more for an advice with limited functions?

 

Overall

Overall, I am happy to have an Apple Watch. I love the look of it and that I can wear it everyday no matter what I am doing. I love being able to track my fitness and it actually motivates me to be active and have a healthier lifestyle. If you are a person who enjoys being active, loves technology, or just someone who wants an Apple Watch for “the look”, then I highly recommend purchasing one.

For great deals on Apple Watches, visit these links:

Series 3

  • Apple- https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch
  • Best Buy- https://www.bestbuy.com/site/apple-watch-device-accessories/apple-watch-series-3/pcmcat1505924253808.c?id=pcmcat1505924253808
  • Wal Mart- https://www.walmart.com/ip/Apple-Watch-Series-3-GPS-Aluminum-Case-with-Sport-Band/560446639

Series 2

  • Best Buy- https://www.bestbuy.com/site/apple-watch-device-accessories/apple-watch-series-2/pcmcat748302047020.c?id=pcmcat748302047020
  • Target- https://www.target.com/c/apple-watch-2/-/N-4skd1?type=products

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment